Excluding file types within MigUser.XML

Posted on

For an upcoming upgrade of our computers, I had a request that during the user migration that only desktop shortcuts (.lnk) files be backed up and migrated and no other files.  It took several failed attempts to get working correctly, but the process I finally found that works was to do the following:

  1. Edit MigUser.xml
  2. Find section with comment “This component migrates Desktop files”
  3. Within the objectSet of “<include filter=’MigXmlHelper.IgnoreIrrelevantLinks()’>”, change the pattern type line to the below:

    <pattern type=”File”>%CSIDL_DESKTOP%\* [*.lnk]</pattern>

  4. Save the MigUser.xml (of course!)

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Excluding file types within MigUser.XML

    Rob said:
    March 1, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for the tip, but it’s not working for me. Trying to migrate user shortcuts on the desktop, where the shortcuts are mapped to folders on network drives. Only shortcuts mapping to local folders migrate. Looking at the loadstate log, I see that the netwrok drive letters are changed to local drive letter (for example, from P: to C:) then I see this: Mig::CMXEHelper::IgnoreIrrelevantLinks:, and shortly after I see that a cleanup operation deletes the link. Any tips on how I can get it to ignore desktop links?

      Nicolas Moseley responded:
      March 1, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      Sorry Rob, I wish I could help in this particular situation, but I’m unable to retest this workaround for awhile.

    Rob said:
    March 5, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Well, I remmed-out the filter section (see below) and now it copies all the shortcuts and other files, however, it copies shortcuts that do not work on the new PC as well, so it is a trade-off. Unfortunately, I have not figured out how to just enable copying of network shortcuts while still deleting dead shortcuts.

    <!– This section remarked to allow copying of all shortcuts–>

Leave a Reply

